When it comes to award season, everything seems to be coming up War Witch. After securing a coveted Oscar nomination last week, the controversial film has now racked up 12 Canadian Screen Award nominations.

Wait, what are the Canadian Screen Awards?
Well, simply put: The Genie and Geminis are out and the Canadian Screen Awards are in! Think of them as the Canadian Golden Globes, but probably with more alcohol. Last year, it was decided that instead of having two little seen or appreciated award shows celebrating Canadian TV and film respectfully, the two would combine and become the Canadian Screen Awards. And earlier today, they announced their first ever nominations.

Other big winners in the movie categories include Midnight’s Children,which has eight nominations and Still Mine, which has seven.

In the world of TV, Flashpoint, which aired its series finale a few weeks ago, was nominated in 11 categories, with HBO Canada’s Less Than Kind following closely behind with 10 nominations.

Below is the list of the major award nominees and you can click here to see a detailed list of all the awards.

The awards ceremony will be held on March 3rd and are hosted by Martin Short.

Best Picture
“L’Affaire Dumont” Nicole Robert
“Inch’Allah” Luc Déry, Kim McCraw
“Laurence Anyways” Lyse Lafontaine
“Midnight’s Children” David Hamilton
“Rebelle / War Witch” Pierre Even, Marie-Claude Poulin
“Still Mine” Tamara Deverell, Jody Colero, Avi Federgreen, Michael McGowan

Achievement In Direction
Michael Dowse in “Goon”
Xavier Dolan in “Laurence Anyways”
Deepa Mehta in “Midnight’s Children”
Kim Nguyen in “Rebelle / War Witch”
Bernard Émond in “Tout Ce Que Tu Possèdes / All That You Possess”

Performance By An Actor In A Leading Role
James Cromwell in “Still Mine”
Patrick Drolet in “Tout Ce Que Tu Possèdes / All That You Possess”
Marc-André Grondin in “L’affaire Dumont”
David Morse in “Collaborator”
Melvil Poupaud in “Laurence Anyways”

Performance By An Actress In A Leading Role
Evelyne Brochu in “Inch’allah”
Geneviève Bujold in “Still Mine”
Marilyn Castonguay in “L’affaire Dumont”
Suzanne Clément in “Laurence Anyways”
Rachel Mwanza in “Rebelle / War Witch”

Performance By An Actor In A Supporting Role
Jay Baruchel in “Goon”
Kim Coates in “Goon”
Stephan James in “Home Again”
Serge Kanyinda in “Rebelle”
Elias Koteas in “Winnie”

Performance By An Actress In A Supporting Role
Seema Biswas in “Midnight’s Children”
Fefe Dobson in “Home Again”
Alice Morel Michaud in “Les Pee Wee3D”
Gabrielle Miller in “Moving Day”
Sabrina Ouazani in “Inch’allah”

Original Screenplay
Jason Buxton for “Blackbird”
Xavier Dolan for “Laurence Anyways”
Kim Nguyen for “Rebelle / War Witch”
Michael Mcgowan for “Still Mine”
Bernard Émond for “Tout Ce Que Tu Possèdes / All That You Possess”

Best Comedy Program or Series
“Good God” (Shaftesbury) Christina Jennings, Ken Finkleman, Scott Garvie, Jan Peter Meyboom
“Kenny Hotz Triumph of the Will” (Entertainment One) Kenny Hotz, James Crouch
“Less Than Kind” (Breakthrough Entertainment, Buffalo Gal Pictures) Ira Levy, Marvin Kaye, Phyllis Laing, Mark McKinney, Chris Sheasgreen, Paula Smith, Peter Williamson
“Michael: Tuesdays & Thursdays” (Rhombus Media Inc.) Niv Fichman, Sari Friedland, Bob Martin, Don McKellar
“Mr. D” (Topsail Productions Ltd, Mr. D S1 Productions Ltd., Mr. D S1 Ontario Productions. Lt) Gerry Dee, Michael Volpe

Best Direction in a Comedy Program or Series
Sheri Elwood for “Call Me Fitz” – Hell Hath No Drink Limit
Ken Finkleman for “Good God” – One Station Under God
Kelly Makin for “Less Than Kind” – Fugue State
Patricia Rozema for “Michael: Tuesdays & Thursdays” – Ridicule
Craig David Wallace for “Todd and the Book of Pure Evil” – Black Tie Showdowne

Best Writing in a Comedy Program or Series
Jenn Engels for “Less Than Kind” – Reparations and Renewal
Mark McKinney, Garry Campbell for “Less Than Kind” – March Fourth
Mark McKinney for “Less Than Kind” – Play it Again, Same
Charles Picco for “Todd and the Book of Pure Evil” – Two Girls, One Tongue
Matt Watts for “Michael: Tuesdays & Thursdays” – Bridges

Best Dramatic Series
“Arctic Air” (Omni Film Productions Limited) Ian Weir, Michael Chechik, Gary Harvey, Gabriela Schonbach
“Bomb Girls” (Back Alley Film Productions Ltd., Muse Entertainment Enterprises, Back Alley Films) Janis Lundman, Michael MacLennan, Adrienne Mitchell, Michael Prupas
“Continuum” (Timely Productions Inc.) Simon Barry, Tom Rowe, Patrick Williams
“Flashpoint”(Flashpoint Season IV Productions Inc.) Anne Marie La Traverse, Bill Mustos
“King” (Indian Grove Productions Ltd.) Bernard Zukerman, Greg Spottiswood

Best Direction in a Dramatic Series
Jon Cassar for “Continuum” – A Stitch in Time
Jim Donovan for “Flashpoint” – A Day In The Life
Laurie Lynd for “Murdoch Mysteries” – Dead End Street
Adrienne Mitchell for “Bomb Girls” – Jumping Tracks
Kari Skogland “The Listener” – She Sells Sanctuary

Best Writing in a Dramatic Series
Emily Andras for “Lost Girl” – Into the Dark
Simon Barry for “Continuum” – A Stitch in Time
Aubrey Nealon for “Flashpoint” – Day Game
Greg Nelson for “Rookie Blue” – A Good Shoot
Jana Sinyor, Aaron Martin “Being Erica” – Dr. Erica

Mike Morrison

One Comment

Comments are closed.