This weekend, the best in Canadian music will celebrate The Juno Awards. All week long, I’m taking a closer look at some of the bigger categories and making some bold predictions!

Yesterday, I covered Breakthrough Artist of the Year, so today I thought I should look at Breakthrough Group of the Year!

Notable Winners:
Rush (1975)
Glass Tiger (1986)
The Tragically Hip (1990)
Nickelback (2001)
The Sheepdogs (2012)

Notable snubs (Nominated but didn’t win)
Trooper (1977)
Loverboy (1981)
54-40 (1989)
The Rankin Family (1992)
Sloan (1993)
Hedley (2006)

Breakthrough Group of the Year

Hey Ocean!
Vancouver, BC
Twitter followers: 19,870 (@heyoceanband)

Monster Truck
Hamilton, ON
Twitter followers: 4,993 (@monster_truck)

The Pack a.d.
Vancouver, BC
Twitter followers:  3,155 (@therealpackad)

Walk Off the Earth
Burlington, ON
Twitter followers: 116,000 (@walkofftheearth)

Yukon Blonde
Kelowna, BC
Twitter followers: 8,359 (@yukonblonde)

Walk Off The Earth’s YouTube numbers might be too big to ignore, I could see Hey Ocean coming in as a surprise win.

Like it? Share with your friends!

Mike Morrison


  1. Good web site! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I might be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your feed which must do the trick! Have a great day!

  2. Hi my family member! I want to say that this article is awesome, nice written and come with approximately all vital infos. I’d like to see extra posts like this.

  3. I?¦ve learn several good stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you put to make this sort of wonderful informative web site.

  4. I have been surfing online greater than 3 hours these days, but I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s beautiful price sufficient for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the net shall be a lot more helpful than ever before.

Comments are closed.

Send this to a friend