This weekend, the best in Canadian music will celebrate The Juno Awards. All week long, I’m taking a closer look at some of the bigger categories and making some bold predictions!

Yesterday, I covered Breakthrough Artist of the Year, so today I thought I should look at Breakthrough Group of the Year!

Notable Winners:
Rush (1975)
Glass Tiger (1986)
The Tragically Hip (1990)
Nickelback (2001)
The Sheepdogs (2012)

Notable snubs (Nominated but didn’t win)
Trooper (1977)
Loverboy (1981)
54-40 (1989)
The Rankin Family (1992)
Sloan (1993)
Hedley (2006)

Breakthrough Group of the Year

Hey Ocean!
Vancouver, BC
Twitter followers: 19,870 (@heyoceanband)

Monster Truck
Hamilton, ON
Twitter followers: 4,993 (@monster_truck)

The Pack a.d.
Vancouver, BC
Twitter followers:  3,155 (@therealpackad)

Walk Off the Earth
Burlington, ON
Twitter followers: 116,000 (@walkofftheearth)

Yukon Blonde
Kelowna, BC
Twitter followers: 8,359 (@yukonblonde)

Walk Off The Earth’s YouTube numbers might be too big to ignore, I could see Hey Ocean coming in as a surprise win.

Mike Morrison


  1. Fantastic blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any recommendations? Appreciate it!

Comments are closed.