We are just over a week away until the Polaris Music Prize is finally announced. Some of you may remember that the Short List was announced back in July. Others of you, will not have a freaking clue what the Polaris Music Prize is, so here is a quick recap:

The Polaris Music Prize is like the Grammy’s but instead of being based on sales, the winner is decided by a jury made up of people involved in the Canadian Music Industry. The Polaris winner wins $20,000. Past winners include Final Fantasy, Patrick Watson and Caribou.

The Polaris website is an amazing resource with links and samples of all of this year’s nominees. They are even giving away a free song each week from each of the nominees. This week’s is Chad Van Gaalen‘s City of Electric Light. (click here to download!)
Other 2009 nominees include: Elliott Brood, Fucked Up, Great Lake Swimmers, Hey Rosetta!, K’NAAN, Malajube, Metric, Joel Plaskett, and Patrick Watson.
If you haven’t had a chance to listen to these albums, you can head on over to Spinner Canada where they are spinning all ten albums for FREE!!!! Then of course, once you fall in love with them, you will head on out and buy them, right? RIGHT!!!!???!!! That’s what I thought.
I only own a couple of these albums (Patrick Watson, Metric), but I’m certainly going to take advantage of this free music to see which ones will be added to my library.
Good luck to all the nominees. Congrats on making great Canadian music!

Mike Morrison