>

Also available on The Q.

Dear McNally Robinson Bookstore,

How have you been? I know I’ve been a bad friend lately. But I just read about your closure announcement and I just wanted to say how sorry I was. I feel awful because when I worked downtown we used to have so much fun together. But when I changed jobs, my visits became less and less.

I remember I would spend my lunch hours hanging out all throughout your store. I was especially fond of the bargain books section in the back. While every one else was too busy buying books about Yoga, Fung Shui or not sweating, you always had dozens of books for fans of Buffy The Vampire Slayer, Far Side comics and unauthorized celebrity biographies.

I also loved your chairs. They were oh so comfortable. And while bigger companies, like Chapters, pulled their comfy chairs years ago, you stuck with them thus allowing poor Calgarians like myself to read through our US Weekly and People Magazines without actually buying them. But don’t worry, I always put the subscription card back when it would inevitably fell out.

I want to thank you for staying true to yourself. In a city where the culture and history is constantly replaced with “bigger and better”, you stood your ground. You supported local Calgarians in a way that no other bookstore did. You didn’t leave them sitting alone at the table at the entrance of your giant store with a small table and plastic tablecloth. You gave them a voice and the spotlight. Plus you let me use your washroom when I was just passing by.

And I don’t want to get too emotional, but the soup at your restaurant? Perfect. I think I might miss it the most.

So while we may have a couple of months left until you close. I still wanted to say thank you. Over the next couple of months many Calgarians, like myself, will realize how foolish we have been to forget Canada’s largest independent bookstore. It is truly our loss.

All the best,
Michael Morrison

Ps. How cheap are the Buffy books going to be now?


Mike Morrison